their functions to assist in the transitional period until a full peacetime trade program is reached. Controls exercised by the Export Permit Branch have been eased on many commodities except those in short supply. The former Export Planning Branch has gone out of existence, its unfinished business being carried out by a new Export Division of the Foreign Trade Service. The work of the Shipping Priorities Committee is also almost completed. With the wartime shipping controls ended on Mar. 3, 1946, the Canadian Shipping Board announced that only a modified form of maritime control will be carried on for a further transitional period of six months.

As will be apparent from what has been told in earlier editions of the Year Book, the Department of Trade and Commerce was, during the latter years of war, considering plans for post-war trade expansion. The Department then laid the foundations for the recently organized Foreign Trade Service to assist Canadian and foreign exporters and importers in every phase of foreign trade. Built around an expanded Trade Commissioner Service, new divisions were added and old divisions reorganized to cope with every angle of foreign trade. A special section was organized to foster the country's new interest in imports.

Subsection 1.—Foreign Trade Service

Formerly called the Commercial Intelligence Service, this branch of the Department of Trade and Commerce has been appropriately renamed the "Foreign Trade Service" in recognition of its greatly increased functions as compared with the services offered in the past. These functions are now carried out by seven divisions: Trade Commissioner Service, Export Division, Import Division, Commercial Relations and Foreign Tariffs Division, Wheat and Grain Division, Industrial Development Division, and Trade Publicity Division. Other Divisions may be added later to deal with special phases of foreign trade promotion.

Trade Commissioner Service.—The Trade Commissioner section might be defined as the sales department of the Foreign Trade Service. Consisting of a headquarters at Ottawa and 32 offices in 15 foreign and 17 British Empire countries, the organization seeks to place Canada in as many world markets as possible. The work of the Trade Commissioners in the field is co-ordinated at Ottawa by four global areas headed by area chiefs. The area officers are thoroughly familiar with every aspect of foreign trade in their geographical or political areas. They are responsible to the Director of the Division for the presentation of official information on all trade matters in their respective territories. The four territories are the British Empire, Europe, Latin America and Asia.

Trade Commissioners represent Canada in the 32 foreign offices. These Foreign Service Officers bring together exporters and importers of Canada and other countries. They study potential markets for specific Canadian products, report on the exact kind of goods wanted, competitive conditions, trade regulations, tariffs, shipping and packaging regulations. Enquiries for Canadian goods are passed to Ottawa or directly to interested Canadian firms. For the Canadian importer, Trade Commissioners look for sources of raw materials and other goods wanted in Canada, and give assistance to the foreign exporter who wishes to market his produce in Canada.

In countries where Canada maintains a diplomatic mission as well as a Trade Office, Trade Commissioners form an integral part of the mission and assume the titles of Commercial Counsellor, Commercial Secretary, Commercial Attaché, Consul